Interview with Tehilla Fishman, writer of “Gifted” for Plays by Young Writers

Playwrights Project will return to live productions for its 38th annual festival of Plays by Young Writers, directed by Kandace Crystal. We invite you to join us for a Night of Celebration on January 28th, 2023 at The Salvation Army’s Joan B. Kroc Theatre as we celebrate the playwrights’ accomplishments with one staged reading, three full productions and a reception with the writers. Each script is a winner of the 2022 California Young Playwrights Contest, and was selected from 228 scripts submitted by students from across the state. 

 

Gifted
By Tehilla Fishman
Age 16, Los Angeles
Directed by Kandace Crystal

Gifted, by 16 year-old Shalhevet High School student, Tehilla Fishman, follows the journey of a former piano prodigy who struggles to play after her grandmother dies. In this allegory of a family coping with loss, teenage Luna struggles with feelings of grief, regains her love of music, and forms a renewed bond with her grandmother beyond the grave. Final Judge Ahmed Dents said of Gifted, “A beautiful story. The emotional stakes are clear.” In addition to honing her writing skills, Tehilla designs the layout of her school newspaper, The Boiling Point, and plays flag football. She is active with the David Labkovski Project, runs a teen prayer group for her synagogue and enjoys drawing and painting. Teaching Artist, Aurrora Arnold, serves as dramaturg for Gifted.

How did you first get involved with writing?

English has been my favorite subject in school for as long as I can remember, but I wrote my first play in my Junior year of high school.

How did you come up with the idea for your script?

When I first started writing, I knew I wanted to include my favorite aspects of plays and books: music and magic. I also knew I wanted to write about a teenage girl with whom I could relate strongly. The pieces fell into place, and I ended up writing Gifted!

What themes are involved in your piece?

Coming-of-age and family.

What is the message you hope the audience takes away with them?

I want the audience to know not to push themselves too hard and lose the fun of their hobbies.

Do you plan to continue writing?

I would like to dual-major in Fine Arts and English in college, so yes!

What are your career goals and/or aspirations?  

I am not sure at this point, but I definitely want to learn a lot more about writing.

What advice would you give to a peer as they embark on writing their first play?

I would say write a character that you know and understand. Luna is very similar to me in many ways, so writing her story felt very natural.

Are you currently working to develop any other plays?

Not at the moment.

Tehilla Fishman was honored at Lights Up! 2022 where winners of the 2022 California Young Playwrights Contest were announced. Photo by Daren Scott.

In your play, we learn that the main character Luna is a child prodigy pianist, but she has lost her passion for piano. Tell us more about this situation and what about this concept intrigues you. 

Often, when people are talented in a certain skill, they are told to find a way to profit from it. Whether that means winning competitions or making it your job, it takes away some of the pure fun that the skill was for the person. As an artist, I have lost my passion for creating when I put too much pressure on myself. When I need to create something for an assignment or portfolio, I tend to get overwhelmed very easily. But when I create because I want to, I love the entire process. I know this isn’t an uncommon feeling, and I wanted to explore the effect of it in Gifted.

Your play has magical elements in that Luna is able to communicate with her deceased grandmother. Is fantasy or magical realism something you’re drawn to you in your writing? What attracts you to it?

I love to read fantasy books, so I am always drawn to include magical elements in my writing. I like writing with magic because it’s fun! It makes a story more compelling and allows the readers to exist in a different world for a little while.

You’ve been working with Aurrora Arnold as your dramaturg and writing mentor and had a chance to discuss your play with the director and actors at an in-person table read. What can you tell us about the process or changes you’ve been exploring in your revisions?

It’s been really cool! Hearing the actors read the play in-person was amazing, and also really helpful. Hearing the play being read aloud helped me make sure everything flowed well. Aurrora and I worked to cut the play to fit 25 minutes, and she was super helpful. It has been great to work with everyone in the company!


Gifted can be seen at our Night of Celebration for the Plays by Young Writers Festival.
January 28th, 2023 at The Salvation Army’s Joan B. Kroc Theatre.

RESERVE TICKETS

Company
Kandace Crystal, Director
Cecelia Kouma, Executive Producer
Aria Proctor, Production Manager
Hsi-An Chen, Scenic Designer
Daniel Long, Props Designer
Russell Chow, Lighting Designer
Sadie Rothenberg, Costume Designer
Brandon Boomizad, Sound Designer
Jason Welch, Technical Director
Derek Livingston, Dramaturg – The Notifiers
Aurrora Arnold, Dramaturg – Gifted
Andy Lowe, Dramaturg – American Dissonance
Samantha Ginn – Dramaturg, The Santa Heist


For more information, please contact Playwrights Project at (858) 384-2970 or at write@playwrightsproject.org.
Tickets can be purchased on Playwrights Project’s website.

Leave a comment