Skip to content

12 Lines on Life with Leukemia

June 7, 2012

Laurie Cunamay participated in a Playwrights Project residency at iHigh Virtual Academy this past semester. As one of the class’s assignments, she wrote a simple 12-line scene, which is commonly used to start the playwriting residency. For this assignment most teaching artists ask the students to create a short scene with at least one character that is an inanimate object. This allows the students to begin using their creativity and spark their imagination as they bring characters to life through playwriting. Laurie took real-life moments, focusing on a family member with Leukemia, and fictionalized it into a heartfelt scene that leaves readers stung with emotion.

SCENE ONE

Characters:       STANLEY-7 years old, leukemia patient

CHARLIE-Stanley’s stuffed giraffe, keeps Stanley calm, had since born

Setting:             Hospital room

At Rise:            Stanley is lying in a hospital bed talking to Charlie

STANLEY

(Asking curiously)

Charlie, what do you think is wrong with me now? We’ve been here longer than usual and I just want to go home already.

CHARLIE

Nothing is wrong, Stanley. You’re going to be fine. You’re always going to be fine. The doctors are just making sure that you’re extra fine before they send you home.

STANLEY

(Hopeless)

I don’t think I’m doing so good this time. I heard dad talking to the doctors and he started crying! I never see dad cry! Mom, she cries all the time. I try to tell her that I’m okay and that the doctors are going to fix me.

CHARLIE

Maybe your dad just stubbed his toe. Or was laughing so hard that he started crying!

STANLEY

(Giggling)

He didn’t stub his toe, Charlie! He would need something to run into!

CHARLIE

Maybe he was running through the hallway and he ran into Dr. Sean and Dr. Sean got mad and started yelling at him!

STANLEY

(Still giggling)

Oh Charlie. You always make things better. I’m so happy that you’re my best friend. (Hugs Charlie)

CHARLIE

I’ll always be your best friend. No matter what happens.

STANLEY

Will you be my best friend even in heaven?

CHARLIE

Even in heaven.

STANLEY

(Falling asleep, cuddling Charlie)

I hope we don’t go there until a very long time.

CHARLIE

(Moments before falling asleep)

We’re not going anywhere.

END SCENE

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 19, 2013 2:31 AM

    This design is steller! You definitely know how to keep a reader entertained.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost.
    ..HaHa!) Excellent job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that,
    how you presented it. Too cool!

Leave a Reply

