Skip to content

Kira Nolan, playwright of “The Eccentric Flight of a Fly”

March 28, 2012

Kira Nolan’s passion for reading and writing has made her a two time winner of the California Young Playwrights Contest. This year, her play, The Eccentric Flight of a Fly, reveals a world through the eyes of small creatures. As a 7th grader at The Bishop’s School, Kira is a busy girl  playing soccer, spending time with her friends, and of course, writing!  Adding to her extracurricular activities, Kira’s play, directed by Katie Rodda, will be produced as a staged reading April 20-29, at the Lyceum Theatre, as part of Playwrights Project’s new play festival.

Photo by Mel Yonzon

Photo by Mel Yonzon

How did you first become involved with writing?

I first really “wrote” around the age of four or five, when I dictated a story about Annie and her horse to my mom, and she typed it for me. Even before that, though, my parents would read to me, and I think it was all the different authors and books I heard that really introduced me to writing. Not to be left out, was my elementary school teacher later on who really encouraged me in creative writing, and one of my best friends who I started a novel with.

How did you come up with the idea for your script?

I think a bunch of different ideas and concepts that I put in my script were always lingering in my mind, but what really got me writing was when I swallowed a fly.

What themes are involved in your piece?

Believe it or not, amid the crazy characters, storyline, and parts that I later thought ‘How on Earth did I come up with that?!!!’, I consciously tried to convey the love the characters had for each other. All of my characters love their family or group, and the plot of my play is based around them figuring that out.

What is the message you hope the audience takes away with them?

I want the audience of the new play festival to see that your age doesn’t limit (though it will affect) your ability to write, and your capacity to think.

Do you plan to continue writing?

I definitely will continue writing. I especially love to write narratives.

What do you want to be when you grow up?

I want to be a novelist. At the same time I want to travel and find myself a variety of odd-jobs so I can learn new things, and get experiences to write about.

Get tickets to Kira’s play and the rest of the Plays by Young Writers now!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

