Skip to content

Caleb Roitz, Playwright of “Hallowed”

February 24, 2012

 Caleb Roitz is no stranger to the California Young Playwrights Contest. This year he submitted six different scripts for judging. His script Man and Woman was selected as a finalist and his script Hallowed was chosen to be produced as a full production in the 27th season of Plays by Young Writers. Currently a freshman at CalArts, Caleb is studying to get his BFA in Acting. Hallowed, running at the Lyceum Theatre April 20-29, 2012, is just the beginning of this young man’s up and coming theatre career.

Photo By Mel Yonzon

How did you first become involved with writing?

I’ve been writing since I can remember. When I was little, I had a little “Ying and Yang” notebook where I wrote stories about wizards and space travel. I started writing for theater when I was a sophomore in high school. I loved everything that theater brought to my life, and I wanted to experience all the different areas of theater. I fell in love doing it.

How did you come up with the idea for your script?

I started writing Hallowed in a math class at Scripps Ranch High School. I had recently read Edward Albee’s Three Tall Women and was amazed at the way he explored the different stages of one character’s life. I thought about what kind of a conversation  an elderly man near the end of his life would have with a young boy who has never lost anyone before. The rest came from there.

What themes are involved in your piece?

Life and death are major themes in Hallowed. There is a man waiting to die peacefully who finds himself in conversations with people who all have their own ideas about what death means to them. It also touches on regret, love, and happiness.

What is the message you hope the audience takes away with them?

I hope the audience can walk away with a new understanding on what it means to be alive and the possibilities simply being alive allows. Hopefully they can relate not only to the Old Man, but also to every person he talks to, and after hearing all they have to say, be able to decide for themselves how they feel about the themes being discussed.

Do you plan to continue writing?

Absolutely. I don’t think I’ll ever stop.

What do you want to be when you grow up?

I know when I get older I’ll be working in as many realms of the theater as possible. Writing, directing, acting, and whatever else there is to do, I will be doing it. I love the theater and all the values that keep it alive. I can’t wait for the next step in my life!

To purchase tickets to Plays by Young Writers visit the Lyceum Theatre!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

