Skip to content

Chelsea Whitmore, Producer of our New Play Festival

April 8, 2011

Chelsea Whitmore is the producer for this year’s festival.  She also produced the 2010 festival, and directed The Stationmaster in the 2009 festival.  Chelsea is the Program Manager for Playwrights Project as well.

How did you first become involved with theatre production?

I was a performer/dancer through high school and the first part of college, and then started stage managing and directing my last few years at San Diego State University.  My experiences in stage management and directing have given me the perfect foundation for producing this festival.  They were the perfect blend of artistic and administrative work.

Do you have a favorite production you’ve worked on?

I performed in a pantomime/dance production of The Taming of the Shrew when I was in college.  It was a magical experience.  I love telling stories through movement and this was a simple and beautiful piece.  I have such fond memories of the director of the piece, Jerry Hager.  He is the one who inspired me to go into theatre education. 

Yet the production that forever changed my life was five years ago when Deborah Salzer brought me on to stage manage Plays by Young Writers at the Old Globe [in 2007].  I was so inspired by the experience that I never left. 

What do you hope the audience takes away with them?

Inspiration; whether it’s to write a script, build a set, act in a play, or simply tell their story.   I want our audiences moved by the power of theatre.

What is the producer’s job?

I am responsible for the artistic vision of the festival as a whole.  I oversee all aspects of this production, from hiring to rehearsals to script selection and development.  You may even find me painting a set piece or two. 

What is your favorite play or book?

My favorite book is Kurt Vonnegut’s Cat’s Cradle.  My favorite plays are Waiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett, Our Town by Thornton Wilder, and The Adding Machine by Elmer Rice.  I like plays that give you an opportunity to look at life from a different angle.

What do you want to be when you grow up?

You never know where you will end up; but I do know I want creativity, passion, inspiration, and love to guide my way.

Don’t miss the final weekend of our new play festival!  Plays by Young Writers will be performed Friday April 8 at 7:30pm and Saturday April 9 at 2pm. Tickets available at the door.

Telling Stories: Giving Voice to Foster Youth will be performed Saturday April 9 at 7:30pm (SOLD OUT) and Sunday April at 2pm (SOLD OUT).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

