Skip to content

Kelsey Bavencoff, Playwright of “Next Train to Nowhere”

March 25, 2011

Kelsey wrote Next Train to Nowhere as part of her creative writing class at West Hills High School in Santee.  This is her first play, and it runs in the Plays by Young Writers festival at the Lyceum Theatre April 1-10, 2011.

How did you first become involved with writing?

The first time I started really getting into writing was, honestly, when my parents grounded me in junior high.  I got so bored that I picked up a notebook and started writing a story.  Once I started, I couldn’t seem to stop.

What themes are involved in your piece?

The biggest theme in my piece is fear.   Both characters have big fears that they end up helping each other overcome.

Do you identify with a particular character?

I definitely identify most with George.   He always tries to do what other people tell him is best, and if he isn’t careful he can lose what’s most important to himself.

What is the message you hope the audience takes away with them?

Don’t be afraid to take the next step.

Do you plan to continue writing?

Always! Even if it’s not professionally.  (Although I’m currently working on another script and an idea for a book.)  I don’t think I could stop writing if I wanted to.

What do you want to be when you grow up?

I’m studying to be a forensic scientist right now [at Grossmont Community College].  Who knows, maybe I can be the next Kathy Reichs and write novels about my work!

 

Next Train to Nowhere will be performed Saturday April 2 at 7:30 PM, Friday April 8 at 7:30 PM, and Saturday April 9 at 2:00 PM at the Lyceum Theatre in Horton Plaza.  Tickets are $12-$50; more information at www.playwrightsproject.org

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 5, 2011 2:21 PM

    Pat Launer wrote an article about Kelsey in the Santee Patch–check it out here: http://santee.patch.com/articles/young-santee-writer-wins-statewide-contest

Leave a Reply

