Skip to content

Kaylin Jeanne Greisen, Playwright of “The Spirits of the Bells”

March 4, 2011

Kaylin Jeanne Greisen was 11 when she co-wrote The Spirits of the Bells with her friend Sydney Yockey.  It won the 2010 California Young Playwrights Contest and will be presented as a staged reading in this year’s Plays by Young Writers festival, April 1-10, 2011 at the Lyceum Theatre.

 

How did you first become involved with writing?

I first was involved in writing when I started writing The Spirits of the Bells, but I also enjoyed writing short stories for fun.

What themes are involved in your piece?

The themes that are involved in my play are the struggles of friendship, being grateful, sadness, and believing in yourself.

Do you identify with a particular character?

I identify with Joy because I love life and always want to have fun.

What is the message you hope the audience takes away with them?

I hope they take home that you should love what you have and be grateful for it, and that you need to stay true to yourself and believe in whatever you want to do.

Do you plan to continue writing?

I would love to continue writing because I’m always thinking of new ideas and stories and would love to make them into something great.

What do you want to be when you grow up?

I want to be a veterinarian; I want to help animals and care for them.  I have always loved animals and want to learn more about them.  If I don’t become a vet, I would love to be an actress and perform in plays or maybe even on Broadway.

 

The Spirits of the Bells will be performed Saturday April 2 at 7:30 PM, Friday April 8 at 7:30 PM, and Saturday April 9 at 2:00 PM at the Lyceum Theatre in Horton Plaza.  Tickets are $12-$50; more information at www.playwrightsproject.org

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

